Gururaj’s Rumination

Rumination – The word says it all…

Hallucination

with 2 comments

It was 01 Sept 2008 00:15 AM when I got up while traveling by train back home to Raichur. The Train was expected to reach Raichur station at 1:30 AM and I had to be awake so as not to miss the station. 12:35 AM and I was sitting in the TTE (Traveling Ticket Examiner) seat to avoid falling asleep again if I had been in my berth any longer.

Slowly chain of incidents started passing before my eyes – kinda flashback. And one such thought was what if I’d not got up before train reached Raichur station. This means I’d to wake my mother, who was also traveling along with me, in a rush and alight the train which could prove fatal if something went wrong.

This reminded me of a day when my elder brother, Venkatesh, and I had gone to see off my mother to railway station. We actually misreckoned the time to reach the station and ended up reaching on time when the train started moving. Getting on to the train was not so difficult but while alighting, the train has picked up the pace. My brother managed to jump off the train but on my turn the train was moving at faster  pace and the compartment I’d been in was about to pass the end of platform. My instincts asked me to take a jump and roll the way I practiced in Martial Arts training. That’s it, without any second thought, in a fraction of second I was in mid air – 4 feet away from the train’s compartment.  To land on the ground without hurting myself I cleanly managed to keep my left palm and right elbow on the ground, followed by a roll over. Not a single scratch on palm or the elbow or even on any part of the body except a small scratch on back of right shoulder because of rough terrain.

Sigh! totally surprised!! I never dreamt that I would do such a risky stunt in my life. I stared at my brother – he was shocked and jaws dropped. Everybody on the platform were stunned, without much knowledge why I jumped out off a moving train, and somebody even muttering in the back. I got up and stepped towards my brother and we exchanged smiles and started walking towards our parked vehicles. Throughout the  way to home we only talked about this endurance and even till the time we went to bed.

The next day we described this incident to our mother and she too was stunned at my feat and even rebuked us for such a risky act.

A creaking noise and the train slowly came to a halt – it was Matmari station. I  was hauled out of my past into present. Later I went and woke up my mother. Now, we both were standing near the exit and waited for the Raichur station. The train precisely reached the Raichur station at 1:30AM and we both got down and made our way towards the auto stand and then to home.

Written by Gururaj

September 1, 2008 at 10:46 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He He… try out dude… it will boost your confidence 😉

    Gururaj

    September 15, 2008 at 11:25 pm

  2. I would have never dared that!!!

    Swapneel Shah

    September 15, 2008 at 6:02 pm


Leave a Reply

