Gururaj’s Rumination

Rumination – The word says it all…

Down the memory lane…

with 2 comments

Today the Aug 12th, 2008 is a significant day in my life. I have had graduated in B.E. (Computer Science) in December 2001 from SLN College of Engineering, Raichur (Karnataka). I think I graduated in a not so good year in the IT industry. The US has been going through a rough phase, the IT industry too had it affect – it was the recession year in the US. The off campus job opportunities were very less. I came to Bangalore (now Bengaluru also known as Silicon Valley of India) on 25th Jan 2002 to take a written test conducted by HAL, Bangalore on 27th Jan 2002. That’s the second time I’d come to Bangalore and before that was once for my final year project consultation.

After taking up the written test and not getting through it became my daily routine to visit every Software firm in-person and drop-in my CV for their reference or for the vacant developer position, if any. My friends and I use to plan which part of Bangalore we wanted to cover that day so that we didn’t wasted much time covering good number of firms in a single day and always tried to stick to it following days too. This used to be my course through the week and on weekends I either used to visit friends or spend time sharpening my skills on Analytical, Technical (Technological) aspects to gear up myself for taking technical tests. As a de facto clearing the Technical test for candidates having less than 2 years experience is the criteria to take the in-person interview – it’s still being followed in most of the software firms in Bangalore and other places in India.

One fine day I got a chance to take up the written test in Aztec Software, Bangalore (now Aztecsoft and acquired by MindTree, Bangalore). Actually one of my brother’s friend referred to his friend in Aztec software, Girish, to forward my CV to the HR. That must be one my lucky day I think, my lucky coin flipped and I cleared the written test and have been called for interview. Subsequently I cleared all the interview rounds and I’d been offered a Trainee post in Aztec Software – the most happiest day in my life… and I’d been offered to join in as Software Trainee from August 12th, 2002. Yes, you got it correct… it’s six years today. Today when I look back I still can visualize those days when I use to flock the software firms with friends seeking for any kind of job they could offer in the recession period. And I can also remember my other friends who didn’t get a job sooner than me and how they use to strive to make the ends meet. I can say those were the toughest days in our lives.

Today everyone from my friends circle have grown well in their careers and are now at elite positions in top MNCs in India and abroad and also enjoying life to the maximum. Also, today is the day where I’m thinking about both past and the future. I’m planning for what I want to be and where I want to head in future and also little skeptic whether my lucky coin will flip again or not to get me what I’m dreaming and longing for.

I can only say… It’s the time and effort that will decide my destiny with a pinch of luck 😉

To mark this day I’ve arranged for a special event (sorry can’t mention it here) for myself and hoping to see that it will turn fruitful – marking this day in my life’s history once again. Wish me good luck…

Update: My special event didn’t go as expected. I was day dreaming all the day long and setting expectations too. One small mistake and all ‘Dreams Shattered’. Total disappointment, I didn’t know how to react, frustrated, one moment felt like shouting at someone and other moment was very desperate to talk to somebody. Later, I called my mom to talk to her and things started settling down. I was calm and happy once again. But even now somewhere inside me is this volcano which is growing… I better work on aspects which are feeding the volcano and try to control it before it’s unmanageable.

Written by Gururaj

August 12, 2008 at 10:00 am

Posted in Personal, Technology

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ve good sense of humor, Suhas…

    Thanks for the correction – but there’s one more possibility if the person in question has secured a management seat 😉

    Please continue reading my blog posts.

    Gururaj

    August 27, 2008 at 9:46 pm

  2. >>I came to Bangalore (now Bengaluru also known as Silicon Valley of India) on 25th Jan 2002 to take a written test conducted by HAL, Bangalore on 27th Jan 2002. That’s the second time I’d come to Bangalore and before that was once for my final year project consultation.

    Hey you came for CET before project consulataion. 🙂

    Suhas

    August 27, 2008 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

