Gururaj’s Rumination

Rumination – The word says it all…

Bangalore International Airport…

with 4 comments

Yippee… Finally I’m here in Bangalore International Airport… Isn’t that amazing to be here soooo soon after it’s inauguration

Well, you may be wondering how I’m blogging right from this airport and what I’m doing here… Yes you guessed it correct… I’m taking a flight from here and the second part being it’s to Chennai – TN, India… And the most import stuff is they have this WiFi network free for all the passengers traveling from here… Isn’t that great, definitely huh????

How do you access this network is quite simple. All you do is enable your Wireless network access on your laptop and just connect to “Passenger Free Internet”, you will then be prompted to send an SMS to 56677 with text “WIFI BAIL”. That’s it… you are connect now… happy browsing… There’s one caveat, this connection will last only 1 hr ;( – Never mind, I think you can send another SMS and get connected (I’ve tried this and it works too – that’s a bonanza).

To give you some insight on this airport internals I’ve these images taken from Nokia 5700 handset – sorry if images are of poor quality.

BIA Enterance

BIA Entrance

BIA inside view - 1

BIA inside view - 1

BIA inside view - 2

BIA inside view - 2

BIA inside Top View

BIA inside Top View

It’s really terrific…

The new BIAL airport is nearly 45 Kms (28 miles) from my residence. After lot of thinking and few suggestions from my fellow colleagues to take a flight scheduled at 2040 hrs I had to leave home at 163o hrs – quite too early I believe. The rationale behind this is Bangalore’s traffic conditions and on top of that today happening to be a weekday. I’d booked a cab to reach to airport and it reached my place well in advance, very impressive. Initially due to evening traffic we nearly spent 50 mins within the city limited and later another 40 mins to drive on the outskirts and finally reached airport at 1730 hrs. This means I’m way too early for a flight taking off at 2040 hrs – very funny. The ride was tiring and I definitely didn’t enjoy too.

I think I need to stop writing this blog and start exploring the new place. I’ve still left around 20 mins to spend here, let me see around this place properly. There’s one more thing, I will be coming back to this airport once again in this month to take an international flight to the US 😉 till then have fun…

Written by Gururaj

June 3, 2008 at 7:14 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree that the new airport is MUCH better than the old HAL airport. There are lots of areas to improve as well.

    mustafa

    September 3, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  2. Hey Thanks Nikhil.

    Yes, it’s sort of far from the city. But the best part is there are dedicated buses to commute to and from the city.

    I never sensed the danger of free WiFi internet till you mentioned the counter use. Everything in this universe comes with good and the bad sides, we will have to decide which one to choose.

    Gururaj

    October 23, 2008 at 12:02 am

  3. Hey, nice pictures. I’ve been to the HAL one and this definitely looks bigger and more spacious. I liked the idea of the ‘big bag’ near the baggage check-in. Is it farther from the city center?

    I had visited Singapore recently and got a taste of free WiFi for the first time at Changi International Airport there. It feels great. I think it is a common feature in many airports worldwide now.. & its slowly picking up in India too. Hopefully the usage is for a good cause!

    Nikhil Kardale

    October 22, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  4. Hey, I didn’t know there was a free Wi-Fi. I will check it out when I am there the next time.

    Although is a definite improvement over the HAL one, there is still a lot to be desired.

    Have a read on the below link

    http://www.kidunltd.com/scribbles/2008/07/07/the-new-international-airport/

    kid

    October 10, 2008 at 8:39 am


Leave a Reply

